Kazakhstan is located in the heart of the Eurasian continent at the crossroads of two continents — Europe and Asia, between 45 and 87 degrees of east longitude, 40 and 55 degrees of northern breadth. The geographical center of the European-Asian subcontinent is in Kazakhstan (on an intersection 78 meridians with 50 parallel).

The extent of Kazakhstan’s territory exceeds 3000 kms from west to east, from the south to north — 1700 kms. East, North and Northwest parts of Kazakhstan bound with Russia (extent of boundary is 6477 kms), in the South — with the states of Central Asia — Uzbekistan (2300 kms), Kyrgyzstan (980 kms) and Turkmenistan (380 kms), and in the Southeast — with China (1460 kms). Kazakhstan is on the ninth place in the world considering the territory occupied, i.e. USA, Brazil, Australia, India and Argentina enter the top ten of largest states of the world — after Russia, Canada, China.

The total population of Kazakhstan is slightly over fifteen million inhabitants (as of 2004) and population density in Kazakhstan is 5.5 individuals per square kilometer. The territory of Kazakhstan stretches from the Lower Volga to Altay in the east and from the West-Siberian plain in the north to the Tien Shan in the south. Khan Tengri is the highest point in Kazakhstan (7000 m.).

Astana is the capital of the Republic of Kazakhstan since 1997.